Dunkirk

In May 1940, Germany advanced into France, trapping Allied troops on the beaches of Dunkirk. Under air and ground cover from British and French forces, troops were slowly and methodically evacuated from the beach using every serviceable naval and civilian vessel that could be found. At the end of this heroic mission, 330,000 French, British, Belgian and Dutch soldiers were safely evacuated.


The above is a brief but clear description of what happened at Dunkirk. Today I saw the film of the same name and directed by Christopher Nolan. 

If you are European (I hope other nationalities learnt of this) you will be very aware of Dunkirk from studying it at school in history. I, personally, found it the most interesting, and also horrifying when you actually think of the sheer numbers of men who lost their lives waiting on that beach. 

I’m not going to give away anything, or I’m going to try not to, please do go and see this film. Even if you have no prior knowledge of Dunkirk, the film speaks for itself. It truly is a work of art. Honestly I’m not sure I can come up with the words to describe this film so I’ll just say words and then try and come up with something!

Mesmerising, horrifying, moving, sad, joyful, edge of your seat, loud, powerful, emotional, atmospheric, visual, simple, clear, explosions, sea, boats, planes, Germans, British, French, Navy, Air Force, Army, suspense, music, sound effects, true to life.

Without giving too much away the way it was filmed was like no war film I’ve seen before, and I like my war films, as long as they’re true to what actually happened. Which this is, and that’s not just me saying that, veterans of war, men/women who knew men or were at Dunkirk have said it was accurate. The effects and sounds really put you in the middle of the action. I jumped at some of the sounds. The music is perfectly added, there is one piece which is well known and it’s used so well and to such great effect it sent shivers down my spine.

One thing I will make clear, do NOT watch this film anywhere except the cinema, you really won’t get the full effect. It needs to be seen in the cinema. If I could write exactly what I felt and thought about this film you’d have no need to see it, or maybe it would make you want to see it even more than you should do already!

Dunkirk – a must see film.


"Like a Dandelion up through the pavement, I persist" Wentworth Miller

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow Behind The Eyes on WordPress.com
